The Retreat

by Jacci Turner

alt tag goes here
About the Author

The Retreat

On-sale now. Order your copy! 

iBooks
Amazon
Google Play
Barnes & Noble

A week at a retreat becomes a transformational journey of spiritual renewal for a young Christian suffering a crisis of the soul in this poignant, illuminating, and spiritually wise teaching novel for fans of Jen Hatmaker, Shauna Niequist, and Brene Brown.

For her entire life, Amy considered her evangelical Christian upbringing the foundation of her life and beliefs. But when she stands up for her gay best friend, Amy is ostracized and banished from the church she lovesresulting in a crisis of the spirit that causes her to doubt her conservative upbringing as she enters her thirties. Seeing Amy’s pain, a caring friend raises the money to send her on a week-long retreat for contemplative activism, hoping that a few days of quiet reflection will help her rekindle her faith.

At the retreat, Amy meets two women her age-teachers who introduce her to new types of prayeras well as Celeste, a seasoned church mentor who takes Amy under her wing and gently shows her new ways to practice her religious beliefs. In the course of just a few days, Amy finds an inspiring and more meaningful view of God—and a new beginning full of hope, compassion, and healing.

The Retreat
Jacci Turner

JACCI TURNER is an Amazon bestselling author of young adult and middle grade fiction, including Bending Willow which was chosen to represent Nevada at the National Book Festival. She is the former educational director for the High Sierra Writers group and a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. Jacci has thirty years’ experience as a campus minister and is experienced in training spiritual directors. She is also a licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. Visit her at www.jacciturner.com.

HarperOne logo
HarperOne Facebook
HarperOne Twitter
HarperOne YouTube
HarperOne Google+
Books
Our
Us
Find
More
Learn

Copyright © HarperCollins Publishers
All rights reserved